Latin publisher

Sony Music Publishing wins ASCAP Latin Publisher of the Year award


Today, Sony Music Publishing (“SMP”) Latin and its songwriters received top honors at 29e The annual Latin Music Awards, held virtually to celebrate the songwriters and publishers of the most played songs of the previous year.

Sony Music Publishing won ASCAP’s Latin Publisher of the Year 2021 award with 26 top performing songs, marking its 17the ASCAP Latin Editor of the Year Award for the past 19 years.

Additionally, Daddy Yankee won the coveted Songwriter of the Year award, and Keityn and Juan Camilo Vargas received the Song of the Year honor for the hit “Tusa”, performed by Karol G and Nicki Minaj.

Jorge Mejia, President and CEO of Sony Music Publishing for Latin America and the United States, said: “I am very grateful to ASCAP for this award, and of course to the remarkable team at Sony Music Publishing Latin, who have so skillfully advanced the SMP Latin effort! Most importantly, I’m grateful to our songwriters for adjusting to a new reality and continuing to write great songs during a particularly busy year. We’re excited to celebrate our songwriters and their many accomplishments, and can’t wait to see more!

The company and its songwriters have won awards for popular hits like Maluma’s “Hawái” and co-written by Ily Wonder, Juan Camilo Vargas and Keityn; “La Toxica” by Farruko, co-written with Andy Bauza, Farruko, Franklin Martinez and Sharo Towers; “La Jeepeta” Remix by Nio Garcia, co-written by Brray and Mike Towers; “Tutu” Remix by Camilo, Shakira and Pedro Capo, co-written by Camilo and Richi Lopez; “Que Tire Pa ‘Lante” by Daddy Yankee; “La Santa” by Bad Bunny and Daddy Yankee, and many more.

Sony Music Publishing’s honored songwriters include Andy Bauza, Brray, Camilo, Daddy Yankee, Daniel Rondon (Honeyboos), Danny Ocean, Edgar Semper (Mambo Kingz), Elena Rose, Farruko, Franklin Martinez, Ily Wonder, Juan Camilo Vargas , Julio Ramirez, Keityn, Jose Luis Roma, Jowell & Randy, Marc Anthony, Myke Towers, Nino Karlo Segarra, Rafa Rodriguez (Honeyboos), Rafael Pina, Ricardo Arjona, Richi Lopez, Sharo Towers and Xavier Semper (Mambo Kingz).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.